Rules and systems of play

Rules and Systems of play

In the group stage all teams will play each other in the group (8 ends plus extra end if tied) and awarded points in the following way:

3 points for winning i 8 ends.
2 points for winning in an extra end.
1 point for losing in an extra end.
0 points for losing in 8 ends.

(If no team scores in EE, both teams get 1 point)

10 minutes before the game starts the first team (marked with *) will have 3 minutes of practice followed by a Last Stone Draw (LSD) consisting of 1 stone per player, 1 clockwise and 1 counter clockwise. Winner of LSD (lowest average) decides hammer. Team practicing first plays yellow stones. The second team will practice after the first team has finalized its LSD.

Please note that before the game starts a “game photo” of both teams will be taken.

WCF approved sweeping equipment must be used.

Play-offs, ranking and tie-breaks

The two highest ranked teams in each group will qualify for A-playoff. Teams ranked third and fourth will qualify for the B-playoff. In group A and group C, the fifth ranked team will be out of the competition.

Teams are ranked within the group based on:

  1. Number of points
  2. Head-to-head record
  3. Number of wins
  4. Draw Shot Challenge (DSC) (counting the team’s 5 best shots from the LSD)

(Note that the LSD for the last group stage match in group A and group C, (consisting of five teams), will not count towards the DSC, but only used to determine hammer.)

For the A-playoff the group winners will be ranked 1-4, second placed teams will be ranked 5-8. Ranking between teams from different groups will be based on the DSC. The same principles will be applied in the B-playoff.

In the quarter finals team ranked 1 will play the team ranked 8, team ranked 2 will play team ranked 7 etcetera.

Best ranked team after the group stage has the hammer in the playoff games, play yellow stones and practice first.